Wednesday, January 9, 2013

HCVC Sandown Display Day 2012 - Inters and Kenworths

The Historic Commercial Vehicle Club (HCVC)  held their Display Day at Sandown Racecource on Sunday, November 18 2012. Here are some of the trucks - in this post you will see the Internationals and the Kenworths.   To see the other American makes, click here and to see the English and European makes, click here.



Jock Crawford's Inter is above and Donnie McGregors is below.





John Ferguson's great looking 1949 KB6.


John Wright owns this Inter.


Colin Hook's Transtar.







George Pyer's Inter.



Ken Whitworth's Fire engine.


Jarrod Blair owns this one.


This newly restored 1927 Inter won the President's award.



John Denholm's timber jinker.


Bruce Paroissien owns Red Terror.








Des and Lyn Judds ACCO.


Jack and Mickie Turner's two Inter (above and below). 




Wayne Henry's Inter.







Michael Everitt's Inter. 


Now, we are onto the Kenworths.


















See more of the trucks at the HCVC Sandown 2012 Display day - to see the other American makes, apart from Internationals and Kenworths, click here and to see the English and European makes, click here.

Saturday, December 29, 2012

Gippsland events in October 2012

These photographs were taken at some recent events in Gippsland - The Last of the Chrome Bumpers at Lardner Park near Warragul on October 7, 2012; the Stratford Historical Society From Horse to Horsepower event at Pine Lodge Recreation Reserve, Stratford on Sunday, October 14 and lastly the Federation Picnic hosted by the Gippsland Vehicle Collection group and held at the Maffra Shed, held on Sunday, October 28, 2012.


Two J-model Bedfords at the Federation Picnic.




Robert Johnston's 1948 Bedford at Last of the Chrome Bumpers.


Graham Young's hay bale loader Bedford, which was on the back of his 1424 Benz, which is shown below.
Taken at Stratford.




Eric Shingle's 1974 1418 Benz - shown at Statford, above, and because it's a Benz, here it is again with his milk tanker at the Federation Picnic.




Ian Chatfield's 1939 Chev at Last of the Chrome Bumpers.


Graeme Johnston's 1960 Commer Knocker and John Gramlick's 1961 Commer Knocker, below at Last of thh Chrome Bumpers.




Bob Lee's 1937 Diamond T.


Andrew Main's two Dodges at Stratford.




Two more Dodges at Stratford - John Mahoney's above and Heather Cameron's below.




Max Devlin's 1928 Dodge at Last of the Chrome Bumpers.


 A Dodge at the Federation Picnic.


Stan Hamilton's 1969 Ford at Last of the Chrome Bumpers, towing his 1950 caravan.


Joe Beaumont's 1939 Ford at the Federation Picnic.


Steve Bragg's 1970 C1800 Inter at Stratford.


John Denholm's 1962 AB180 Inter at Last of the Chrome Bumpers and John Ferguson's 1949 KB6 Inter with his great display of Ampol drums, is below.




Stan Hamilton's 1946 Maple Leaf at Last of the Chrome Bumpers.


Two Morris Commercials at Stratford - John Burley's 1949 model is above and the one below is from 1947.




Another green Morris Commercial, 1948 model with a 1950 caravan. Displayed by Ian James at Last of the Chrome bumpers.


Tony and Glenys Hackett's 1957 REO Gold Comet at the Federation Picnic.


Here's our Volvo at the Last of the Chrome Bumpers.


Maffra Bush Fire Brigade Truck at the Federation picnic. Thank you to Linda Barraclough, local historian, for telling me that this is a 1928 Graham Brothers.


Other vehicles at the Federation picnic.


Line up of trucks at Stratford.


Finally - the prize winners in the commercial vehicle category at Last of the Chrome Bumpers. That's Graeme Johnston (Commer Knocker) on the left and John Arnold (our Volvo) on the right.

Photographs: the Federation Picnic photographs were taken by Eric Shingles and all the rest I took.

Tuesday, November 6, 2012

More Koo-Wee-Rup Swamp machines

In the last post we looked at the Lubecker Steam bucket dredge that worked on the Koo-Wee- Rup Swamp, in this post we will look at other machines. But first - here is a short history of the drainage of the Swamp.  In 1875, landowners on the Swamp formed the Koo-Wee-Rup Swamp Drainage Committee. From 1876 this Committee employed over 100 men and created drains that would carry the water from the Cardinia and Toomuc Creeks to Western Port Bay at Moody’s Inlet. Around the time of the First World War another drain was created to tap the Deep Creek into the Toomuc Drain.  

The Chief Engineer of the Public Works Department, William Thwaites, surveyed the Swamp in 1887 and his report recommended the construction of the Main Drain from where the Bunyip River entered the Swamp in the north to Western Port Bay and a number of smaller side drains.  A tender was advertised in 1889. In spite of strikes, floods and bad weather by March, 1893, the private contractors had constructed the 16 miles of the drain from the Bay to the south of Bunyip. 

Additional drains were added over the years and existing drains were widened and deepened. After the huge 1934 flood that saw the entire Swamp  inundated there was a Royal Commission into the role of the operation of the State Rivers and Water Supply Commission (SRWSC). As a result they worked on new drainage plans for the Swamp which included the construction of the Yallock outfall drain from Cora Lynn, cutting across to Bayles and then essentially following the line of the existing Yallock Creek to Western Port Bay. The aim was to take any flood water directly to the sea so the Main Drain could cope with the remaining water. The Yallock outfall drain was started in 1939 but the works were put on hold during World War 2 and not completed until 1956-57. 

These are SRWSC photographs and show some of the machines that worked on the Swamp in the 1930s and 1940s.


 Deep Creek outfall, No. 15 Dredge. Taken December 1936.


 Sand dredge, Main Drain. December 1936.


 No. 36 excavator, Yallock outfall drain. April 1940.


McGrath's sand dredge, Cardinia Creek. November 1940.


Harmon Excavator working on the Yallock Outfall drain. July 1941.


Yallock Outfall works. December 1947


 Yallock Outfall works. February 1948.


 Yallock Out fall works. Cletrac tractor. February 1948.


No 67 Excavator, remodelling the Little Yannathan Drain. December 1948.

To read about the Lubecker Steam bucket dredge, click here.